Singapore introduction of Finnish Millennium Technology Prize

On Friday 20 January 2017 the international science and technology community was invited to take part in the Millennium Technology Prize Introduction Reception at the Ambassador of Finland, HE Paula Parviainen’s residence. The guest of honor, Dr Juha Ylä-Jääski President and CEO of the Technology Academy of Finland (TAF), introduced the Millennium Technology Prize.

Photo: Marica Salokangas

The Millennium Technology Prize is Finland’s tribute to innovations for a better life. The Prize is worth one million euros and it is awarded every second year. The Prize highlights the extensive impacts of science and innovation on society, even on humanity at large.

General principles of the Millennium Technology Prize:

  • Awarded to disruptive technological innovations that enhance the quality of people’s lives in a sustainable manner.
  • The innovations have been applied in practice and are delivering extensive change now and in the future.
  • The innovations stimulate further cutting edge research and development in science and technology.

The Millennium Technology Prize encourages further cutting-edge research and development and is thus not intended as a reward for lifetime achievement. The Prize also highlights the Finnish practical and solution-focused mindset – one of the greatest strengths of Finland – to the whole world.

Candidates for the Prize are accepted from across the world and all fields of technology excluding military technology. In a global world, people’s lives are affected by common problems and solutions. It is therefore also essential that a Finnish prize can be awarded to anywhere in the world. Nominations for the Prize can be made by science academies, universities, research institutes and industrial organizations.

The prize is awarded every second year, the next time on May 22, 2018. The nomination period for the 2018 prize will open on April 3 and close on July 31, 2017.

To date, the Millennium Technology Prize has been awarded to 12 remarkable innovations. The latest winner is biochemist Frances Arnold.

Photo courtesy of Marica Salokangas

Source: Suomi Finland 100 Singapore


    0 0 votes
    Article Rating
    Notify of
    Inline Feedbacks
    View all comments